Middletonia
People and places of Middleton
Portrait advert

Useful Contacts

Dialling codes

0800/0808 is Free.
0845 is 3p per min from most landlines.
0870 is 7.51p per min from most landlines.

EMERGENCY

General (ambulance, fire brigade, police) 999 or 112 (EU)
Emergency Heating Repairs, 08450 777 111 www.house.co.uk/emergency
Environment Agency, 0800 807 060 (To report environmental pollution) Floodline, 0845 988 1188 www.environment-agency.gov.uk
National Gas Emergency Service, 0800 111 999 (If you smell gas anywhere)
Power cut. Unitied Utilities, 0800 195 4141
RSPCA Crueltyline, 0870 55 55 99 www.rspca.org.uk
Water. United Utilities, 0800 33 00 33 (leaks) 0845 746 2200 (water supply)

CRIME

Police (general) 0161 872 5050
British Transport Police, 0800 40 50 40
Crown Prosecution Service, Rochdale. 01706 515600
Crimestoppers, 0800 555 111 www.crimestoppers-uk.org
Middleton Police Station, 0161 856 8701
Neighbourhood Watch, www.neighbourhoodwatch.net
Terrorist Hotline, 0800 789 321
Victim Supportline, 0808 16 89 111 www.victimsupport.com

EMPLOYMENT & BUSINESS

ACAS, 0845 747 47 47 www.acas.org.uk
Department of Trade and Industry, 02072 155 000 www.dti.gov.uk
Employer Direct, 0845 601 2001
Equal Opportunities Commission, 0845 601 5901 www.eoc.org.uk
Job Centre Plus, 0845 606 0234 www.jobcentreplus.gov.uk
Health & Safety Executive. 0845 345 0055
The Insolvency Service. 934 5400

Local Employment Agencies:
Design Services Ltd, 42 Long St. 643 0088
Eclypse Recruitment, 99 Long St. 870 0925
Labour Ready Temporary Services Ltd, 56 Long St. 653 4972
North Ridge Recruitment, Stakehill Ind. Est. 653 0022

TAX: HM Revenues & Customs.
Income Tax/Self assesment, 0845 900 0444
National Insurance, 0845 302 1479
Tax Credits, 0845 300 3900
VAT, Excise, Customs and duties, 0845 010 9000. www.hmrc.gov.uk

HEALTH

Hospitals with 24 hour A&E:
North Manchester General. Delaunays Rd. Crumpsall, 0161 795 4567
The Royal Oldham. Rochdale Rd. Oldham, 0161 624 0420

Benefits for people with disabilities, 0800 88 22 00/0800 24 3355(textphone)
Department of Health, 0207 210 4850 www.dh.gov.uk
Disability living allowance helpline, 0845 712 3456/08457 22 44 33(textphone)
Heywood, Middleton & Rochdale Primary Care Trust. 01706 652800/643 6900(mid)
National Blood service, 0845 771 1711 www.blood.co.uk
NHS Direct, 0845 4647/0845 606 4647(textphone) www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk
NHS Organ Donor Register, 01179 757 575
Winter Warmth Advice Line, 0800 085 7000

TRAVEL

DVLA Driver Enquiries, 0870 240 0009 www.dvla.gov.uk
Highways Agency info line, 08457 50 40 30 www.highways.gov.uk
Identity and passport Office, 0870 521 0410 www.passport.gov.uk
National Rail Enquiries, 0845 748 4950 www.nationalrail.co.uk
Traveline, 0871 200 2233 www.traveline.info

OTHER GENERAL ENQUIRIES

Child Support Agency National Helpline, 0845 713 3133
Citizens Advice Bureau, 0161 284 0334 (Middleton)
Consumer Direct, 0845 404 0506 www.consumerdirect.gov.uk
Coroners Office, Rochdale, 01706 924815
Crown Prosecution Service, Rochdale. 01706 515600
Department of Health, London. 0207 210 4850
Energy Watch, 0800 887 777
Environment Agency, 08708 506 506 www.environment-agency.gov.uk
Equal Opportunities Commission, 0845 601 5901 www.eoc.org.uk
Health & Safety Executive, 0845 345 0055
Heywood, Middleton & Rochdale Primary Care Trust, 01706 652800/643 6900(mid)
The Insolvency Service, 934 5400
Land Registry, 01253 840012
Local Government Ombudsman, 0845 602 1983
Rent Assessment Panel, 0845 100 2614
R.M.B.C, 01706 647474
Roch/Mid/Hey Magistrates Court, 01706 514 800
TV Licensing, 0870 241 6468

TAX: HM Revenues & Customs.
Income Tax/Self assesment, 0845 900 0444
National Insurance, 0845 302 1479
Tax Credits, 0845 300 3900
VAT, Excise, Customs and duties, 0845 010 9000. www.hmrc.gov.uk

HELPLINES

ADDICTION

Alcohol

Alcoholics Anonimous, 08457 697 5555.www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
Drinkline, 0800 917 8282

Drugs

Frank, 0800 77 66 00(24hr) www.talktofrank.com
Narcotics Anonimous, 0300 999 1212,(24hr) www.ukna.org
Release, 0845 450 0215

Gambling

Gamcare, (freephone) 0808 8020 133 www.gamcare.org.uk

BEREAVEMENT

Child Death Helpline, 0800 282 986
The Compassionate Friends, 0845 123 2304 www.tcf.org.uk (for bereaved parents)
Cruse Bereavement Care, 0870 167 1677 www.cruse.org.uk
Winstons' Wish Helpline, 0845 20 30 405 www.winstonswish.org.uk (for grieving children)

CARERS

Carers Line, 0808 808 777

CHILDREN

Childline, 0800 1111(24hr) www.childline.org.uk
Get Connected, 0808 808 4994 www.getconnected.org.uk (help and advice for young people)
NSPCC, 0808 800 5000/0800 056 0566(textphone)
Runaway Helpline, 0808 800 70 70(24hr) www.runawayhelpline.org.uk (for under 18's)

DISABILITY

Benefits for people with disabilities, 0800 88 22 00/0800 24 3355(textphone)
DIAL UK, 01302 310 123 www.dialuk.org.uk
Disability living allowance helpline, 0845 712 3456/08457 22 44 33(textphone)
Disabled Living Foundation, 0845 130 9177 www.dlf.org.uk

EMOTIONAL SUPPORT

Careline, 0208 514 1177
Life Coach Directory
Marriage Care, 0845 660 6000 www.marriagecare.org.uk
Samaritans, 08457 90 90 90 (24hr) www.samaritans.org.uk

http://www.lifecoach-directory.org.uk/

FAMILY

Gingerbread Advice Line, 0800 018 4318 www.gingerbread.org.uk (for lone parents)
Parentline Plus, 0808 800 222(24hr) www.parentlineplus.org.uk (support and info for parents) 0800 783 6783(textphone)

HOUSING

Shelter, 0808 800 4444 www.shelter.org.uk

LEGAL

Community Legal Services Direct, 0845 345 4345 www.clsdirect.org.uk

MENTAL HEALTH

MIND Info Line, 0845 766 0163 www.mind.org.uk
RSCPP www.rscpp.co.uk
Saneline, 0845 767 8000 www.sane.org.uk

MISSING PERSONS

Message Home, 0800 700 740(24hr) www.messagehome.org.uk
National Missing Persons Helpline. 0500 700 700(24hr) www.missingpersons.org.uk
Runaway Helpline, 0808 800 70 70(24hr) www.runawayhelpline.org.uk (for under 18's)
Salvation Army Family Tracing Service, 0845 634 4747

MONEY AND DEBT

Consumer Credit Counselling Service, 0800 138 1111 www.cccs.co.uk
Debt Advice Foundation, 0800 043 40 50 www.debtadvicefoundation.org/
Gamcare, 0845 6000 133 www.gamcare.org.uk
National Debtline, 0808 808 4000 www.nationaldebtline.co.uk
National Debtline 'Personal Debt Analyser' (Microsoft Excel) Personal Debt Analyser

OLDER PEOPLE

Elder Abuse Response, 0808 808 8141 www.elderabuse.org.uk
Help The Aged, 0808 800 6565

SEXUAL HEALTH/SEXUALITY

London Lesbian and Gay Switchboard, 0207 837 7324
Sexual Health Direct, 0845 122 8690 www.fpa.org.uk (advice on sexual health and contraception)
Sexwise, 0800 28 29 30 (confidential advice to under 18's)

VIOLENCE AND CRIME

National Domestic Violence Helpline, 0808 2000 247(24hr)
Victim Supportline, 0845 30 30 900 www.victimsupport.com





Back to top of page

Back to the Community Page

HOME PAGE